Skip to Content

Park Community's
Mission & History

Our History and Mission

Park Community was established in 1965 to serve the employees of General Electric’s Appliance Park in Louisville, Kentucky, hence the name “Park” Federal Credit Union. Park continued to grow over the years, serving GE employees in other states and eventually expanding services to over 500 Select Employment Groups (SEGs).  In 2003, Park became a Community Chartered Credit Union, which opened the doors to anyone who lived, worked, worshiped, attended school, or volunteered in the nine-county Louisville Metro Area. With a new focus on serving the community, the word “Community” was added to our name, making us Park Community Federal Credit Union. In addition to the Louisville Metro Area, Park also offered membership to select counties and areas in Berea, Lexington, and Richmond in Kentucky.*

In 2014, after a vote in favor by the membership, Park Community Federal Credit Union converted to a state chartered credit union. The charter change also came with a subtle name change, removing the word federal. With the charter change, Park Community was able to expand its servicing area in the Bluegrass Region, which now includes: Anderson, Bourbon, Boyle, Clark, Estill, Fayette, Franklin, Garrard, Harrison, Jackson, Jessamine, Lincoln, Madison, Mercer, Nicholas, Powell, Scott, and Woodford Counties in Kentucky.

While the members we are able to serve has changed over the years, our mission to provide exceptional service and a full range of financial products has not. Our philosophy continues to focus on the credit union motto of “people helping people” as we STRIVE to be YOUR full-service financial institution.

Open Now 

STRIVE Service Experience

Members can expect to receive the STRIVE Service Experience each time they interact with Park Community.

We promise to…

  • Serve you
  • Thank you
  • Respect you
  • Inform you
  • Value your time
  • Exceed your expectations

Every member. Every time.

Giving back to the community has been a priority for Park Community from the beginning. Stay up-to-date with our giving by visiting

*Kentucky counties include Jefferson, Bullitt, Henry, Oldham, Shelby, Spencer, Trimble, Madison, Estill, Jackson, and select areas in Fayette and Clark counties. Indiana counties include Clark and Floyd.


© 2018, Park Community Credit Union

Louisville Web Design by Blackstone Media